Two months had passed and I think I have been loving my exchange semester too much. While adapting and settling into life at the University of Southern California, Los Angeles, I found heaps of things are in fact very different to life in ANU, Canberra.

What made this past two months different than my normal days at ANU?

  1. Foods

As a die hard fans of fried chicken, I am overjoyed that I could finally taste the amazing Fried Chicken and Waffle as well as Popeyes which is a famous southern fried chicken chain from Louisiana. Not only that, if you love chipotle and burrito like me, then LA is heaven. We could find Mexican food almost in every corner of the street and not to mention they are friendly to your student pocket too! Last but not least, In N Out animal style burger and fries is a must if you visit west coast.

  1. Classes

Most of my courses have 4 hours of lecture every week for each course.

  1. Having a Roommate

In most university accommodation in USC, we are sharing a room with one other roommate, whereas in ANU the room is only for one person. Moving to a new apartment with my three other exchange friends that I have never met before was an interesting experience. A little more about my housemates, they are from Finland, Belgium, and Thailand, and they are all super nice people! I am really glad to be in such a diverse environment.

  1. Miles, Pounds, and Fahrenheit

It sounds as silly as it is but in the first few weeks, I found it a little bit hard to express temperature in Fahrenheit, distance in miles and weight in pounds as I am really used to Celsius, kilometers, and kilograms.

  1. Tailgating, College Football, Sorority and Fraternity

College Football is a big thing and USC takes it to the next level, USC Trojan Football team is one of strongest. Before every football game, there will always a tailgating on campus where people gather to BBQ and drink together. Moreover, the whole sorority and fraternity concept was completely new to me. What I found really fascinating is this street called “The Row” where all the sorority and fraternity houses are located. The row gets busy during Thursday and weekends as that’s where heaps of parties are happening. Did I mention how pretty the houses are? They are super gorgeous, it’s like living in a movie.

  1. Entertainment

You could find almost everything in LA, from beaches to shopping malls to museums to theme parks to Hollywood and Beverly Hills, you name it! Almost every day is a beach day cause it’s always sunny, so what’s left to think about is whether to go to Santa Monica or Venice beach or any other beaches. Furthermore, LA has several theme parks and amusement parks that you wouldn’t want to miss such as, Universal Studio, Disney Land, California Adventure, Six Flags, and much more.

  1. Road tripping

LA is surrounded by beautiful places that are just a few hours drive away, so what my friends and I would do every once in a while is we rent a car and do a road trip together for the weekend. It’s amazing how I came to LA alone without any friends, meet these people as strangers, and they finally become my family as we hang out and travel together. Some places that we visited were Monterey, San Francisco, Palo Alto, and Yosemite National Park.

Processed with VSCOProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCOProcessed with VSCOProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCOProcessed with VSCOProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

Leave a Reply

